Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      LikeOhLikeH

So, I’ve been an artist my entire life and have always considered myself artistically adept. I wanted to get an apprenticeship forever ago, and have pretty much always wanted to be a tattoo artist. I guess the honest reason I’ve put off going to shops and presenting myself to other artists is because of rejection. It terrifies me. Probably because I went to an arts high school and constantly had my work critiqued. I am more emotionally mature and while it will sting; I believe that I can handle it and I know that I can find someone to apprentice me. So, I’ve been putting together a portfolio and am going to start going out next week (by the by, I already have a machine and know the basics, but I believe in the long standing tradition of learning by an apprentice/mentor set up.) Also, I realize that there are other posts that are similar to mine, however I did not receive sufficient information so alas, I am creating my own. I really appreciate the help! So here are my questions/etc:

1. What kind of work should be in my portfolio ? I’ve always been a mixed media artist; but I am very strong with color work. I understand I should have an array of things, but could you be more specific? Ive been doing some flash lately, because I’ve heard that you should have some – I’ve also heard that when you do flash (and you add color) you should also have a copy of what it looked like before the color (like the outline). Is this true?

2. Does the fact that I am a girl put me at a disadvantage? I don’t see as many female artists out there and I wondered if there was a reason for it.

3, Are apprenticeships where you pay the artist standard? Should I avoid them?