• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Funzo

Hello everyone my name is alfonso, I’m new to tattooing all together i dont even own a machine, but I’m not new to art, i love it, so much that i spent most of my junior and high school years learning all sorts of different things. I know i want to get into tattooing because i’ve been facinated with it ever since i was a little kid and its what i want to do, I know that much. I’m pretty much fresh out of high school and still hella young but i dont see that as a bad thing, i see it as me getting a good start to learning. I really appreciate learning things from other people and i see it as me further my learning.I love sharing ideas andgaining knowledge from artists that i know around my town. All i ask is a point in the right direction, like what would be a good type of machine to start with and where i could maybe purchase one so that i can start my practicing, I know that im going to need to get an apprenticeship, but i would at least like to go in with at least some experience. So any help would be really appreciated.

Welcome –
      First I would like to ask that you post questions in the apprentice questions section.
      Thanks!

If you are new to tattooing, but you have an art background – here are my suggestions.

1.) try to get into a school of design – you would be surprised how many tattoo artists did not go to design school – but you would be even more surprised of how many of the TOP artists have a BFA in Fine arts – or at least started out going to design school
      2.) Get tattooed – best way to get involved and show you are serious is to get as many tattoos as possible FROM GOOD ARTISTS
      3.) build your portfolio
      4.) Get an apprenticeship.

You can not buy a “good machine” out of a catalog. the best machines are ONLY sold to people working or apprenticing in tattoo studios – there are plenty of decent machines out there though – don’t get discouraged…