• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Vory

I recently stumbled across this forum and was pleasantly surprised by the lack of hate. I’ve seen a few things like this but I’ve never actually posted before.

I guess a little background is in order. I’ll try to be as brief as possible and I will have to leave out names of artists and shops I’ve worked at. I’m sure many of you have had some pretty negative experiences too.

I’ve wanted to tattoo since a first heard punk rock at age 12. I remember drawing the Dead Kennedy’s logo on my friend’s shoulder with a uni-ball pen. I didn’t get serious until I was tattooed-day after I turned 18.

If you’re trying to get an apprenticeship, your first step would be to get tattooed. Tattooers tend to put their claws away once the cash comes out.

It’s hard to say when my apprenticeship officially started. I worked for free for over 3 years. For the first two years I was a full time student in college and working 5 nights a week in the kitchen of a pizza place. Days off did not exist. As my grades slipped I found myself having to choose school or tattooing. I was accepted into 5 Universities straight out of highschool but chose to stay back at community college so I could pursue an apprenticeship.

Long story short, I opened my eyes one day and saw through the veil of bullshit. I was told that I would have to pay a minimum of 10% of my income to my teacher for the rest of my life. In 3 years I had never so much as held a running machine. I was promised I would learn to makes needles, pigments and shown the secrets of coil machines. Instead, I found myself trapped with a man who saw me as nothing more than a plan to get out of debt. Of course, I agreed.