• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      ricky0086

So I’ve recently acquired a tattoo set up that i purchased online, and I’ve been watching some of my good friends over that years that tattoo. I am brand new at this, by the way. My wife worked in a tattoo and piercing studio as a piercer and we became good friends with all the artist. I noticed that once i started asking them questions about different things, they quickly became on guard like I was asking questions about a secret society. I found this forum from a search engine, thank god. I’m hoping that I can find the help that I need from this forum and from the seasoned tattoo artist that respond. I have been wondering if it is normal to lose most of your ink from the tube upon initial contact to the skin after refilling. Am i using the wrong tubes with the wrong needles. Is it different reactions to different inks. Ive been using Prizm inks from superior. I like the inks personally, but I fear that I’m using them improperly. I also wanted to know what different voltages do I need to run while lining vs shading.

First of all – welcome to the forum.
      You should get an apprenticeship – from a professional.
      Build a drawing / painting portfolio – if you are a good artist then you should have no problem with this.
      If you are not a good artist – you will never be a good tattoo artist – you will only be a tattooist.

You should also know that you can not purchase “real” tattoo gear unless you work in a studio. The junk you get out of magazines is just that normally – junk.
      Real tattoo machines are not sold in kits – they are sold from professional retailers. A lot of artists start out with kits though –

You should focus on investing in a good power supply – this will make a world of difference. I know that the superior tattoo power supplies are not the best – but they are a good entry point in the industry.