• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Infamous
      Participant

Hi everybody, I’m new to tattooing but I am a skilled artist with a pencil. I decided to buy some equipment sometime after I got my first tattoo and had my second quoted, as well as one my wife is wanting. I thought about for a while and decided that I could do it just as well as the guy who gave me a tattoo. (He wasn’t a professional either btw, clean but not in a shop, and I drew my tattoo and the one my wife was and still is planning on getting anyway) Since then I have been making sure to draw something, anything, every single time I have time to spare. I even took up watercolor since I read somewhere that it was the closest form of art to actual tattooing.

I ordered my equipment online and it came piece by piece, I made sure to get the last piece, the actual machine, from quite a ways off since I wanted to hone my drawing skills and make sure this is what I wanted to do. (I thought, hey, if I decide against this I can just sell all this stuff on craigslist, might even make a profit) I got everything about a month later and have been tattooing ever since. Not on skin of course! But, oranges, I’ve read through quite a bit of sources and decided I should get some honey dew melons to tattoo next, but for now a bag of oranges is quite a bit cheaper and will do just fine.

An apprenticeship, although I would like to have one, is out of the question for me since I work a full-time job and have a family to support. I can’t spare any funds, or time for one. So I am wanting to soak up as much information as possible from everyone here.

I don’t know what to ask of all of you, but if you have any pointers I’d like to hear them!